2002 Photos

Gala Concert in July in Long Beach

2002-Mozart+Gershwin copy
Mozart “Hunt” Quartet, K. 458, I. Allegro vivace assai — Gershwin Lullaby
Dick Kenyon & Deanna Cheung, violin
Winnie Hill, viola; Bryna Scheckman, cello
2002-Haydn-Lark copy
Haydn “Lark” Quartet, op. 64/5, I. Allegro moderato — Britten Playful Pizzicato — Vivaldi “Summer” Quartet
Jonathan Sun, Melinda Lu, Sunny Hwang, violin — Catarina Bang, cello
2002-Haydn-op77 copy
Haydn Quartet in G, Op. 77/1, I. Allegro
Chaney Lin & Karyn Haitz, violin
Daniel Kuo, viola; Michael Fan, cello
2002-Pachelbel-Mozart copy
Pachelbel Canon
Mozart Divertimento in D, K. 156, 3 movements
Anna Cottrell, Missy Walker & Abigail Cottrell, violin
Sammy Araya, cello
2002-Turina-Mozart copy
Turina Bullfighter’s Prayer
Mozart Quartet in B-flat Major, K. 159, III. Presto
Christina Knudsen & Christina Ho, violin
Sunny Lin, viola; Stephanie Kim, cello
2002-Borodin-Mozart copy
Borodin String Quartet No. 2 in D Major, III. Nocturne
Sarah Wallin & Karen VandenBroek, violin — Joy Wong, viola; Arthur Yen, cello
2002-Mozart copy
Mozart Trios No. 2 in D, III. Allegro, & No. 3 in F, I. Allegro
Paul Nguyen & Christina Nguyen, violin
Matthew Shen, cello
2002-Hoffmeister copy
Hoffmeister Duet
Darrell Peries, violin; Nathan Cottrell, cello
2002-Haydn-op76 copy
Haydn String Quartet in G, op. 76/1, I. Allegro
Jeffrey Kuo & Kevin Carlin, violin
Katie Murtough, viola; Tony Choi, cello
2002-Dvorak copy
Dvorak Sonatina, op. 100I. Allegro risoluto — Sunny Hwang, violin; Marla Devich, piano
II. Larghetto — Anna Cottrell, violin; Camilla Cottrrell, piano
III. Scherzo. Molto vivace — Jeffrey Kuo, violin; Marla Devich, piano
IV. Finale. Allegro — Anna Cottrell, violin; Marla Devich, piano
2002-Rounds copy
Rounds and Canons, compiled by William Starr, No. 1-10+14 — Teresa Nguyen and Christopher Chiang, violin
supplemented by Kay Pech and Richard Anshutz
2002-faculty copy
Faculty: Kay Pech, Dr. Charles Baker, Richard Anshutz

Other Performances in 2002

World Premiere Performance of

“…and blue sparks burn” by Melissa Hui

by violinist Marina Sharifi and pianist Justina Nadal

Friends of Today’s Music (Music Teachers Association of California) commissioned Melissa Hui to write a composition for violin and piano and selected CMIsc to perform the world premiere for the MTAC State Convention June 24, 2002, in Los Angeles. The duo was coached by Kay Pech.
05hui4z copy
Kay Pech, Melissa Hui, Justina Nadal (piano) and Marina Sharifi (violin)

Born in Hong Kong and raised in Vancouver, British Columbia, Melissa Hui received her Doctor of Musical Arts from Yale University. Her mentors include Jacob Druckman, Earl Kim and Mel Powell.Completed in February 2002, Hui says, “the work was conceived in October of 2001 soon after the tragic events of September 11, 2001, in New York City and Washington, D.C. While the nation was mourning the tremendous and senseless loss of lives, I was haunted by the images of dust and eerie calm that permeated the news coverage in the aftermath of the disaster. This is my personal response.”

%d bloggers like this: